A lover is gone

image

There is nothing else but your gaze I remember
A heart of paper, painted and torn
A coin in the ocean
A morning without light
A day without minutes
A truth without reason
The echo of your voice and your words haunt me
The air still carries your perfume
The moonlight doesn’t shine through my window
The night will never smile again

Inspired by a Spanish love song

Published by: wordsbecomelegacies

New to the blogging world, this is a way for me to grow as a writer. Hopefully, I learn time management to achieve the goals I've had for years but never seem to get a good solid start on. To put my work out there for others to enjoy. For the number of stories I write to grow in not only quantity, but quality. And to someday have a published book. The typical dreams and aspirations of someone with too many words. =)

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , , , 9 Comments

9 thoughts on “A lover is gone”

  1. I like this. Lots of good imagery. I
    think if you remove the “telling” parts, such as the first two lines, though, and just jump into your images, it would help show the emotions more potently. In the 7th and 8th line, stay with the imagery, instead of telling again. Telling makes us think. You want us to empathize, to feel. Something like “Echoes of words and perfume” would be enough to touch our shared experiences and then your last two lines will no longer waver on telling, but will help us stay with the emotions you have painted long after the poem is done. That last line is especially well-crafted.

      1. Not a problem. I haven’t written poetry in a long time, but I enjoy what you are doing. You are quite prolific. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

